C  H  R  I  S  T  I  A  N  I  T  Y 
through the lens of 
Part Two

Mohd Amin Yaacob









The Authenticity Of The Bible

10.1   The Word “Bible” Is Not Given By God

10.2   The Books Of The Bible

10.3   The Original Gospel Or Injil Of Jesus No Longer Exist

10.4   Different Version Of The “One Bible Claim”

10.5       Martin Luther Rejected Part Of The Present Books Of The New Testament

10.6   Prophet Moses Didn’t Wrote The Christian “Torah” Or “Taurat"

10.7   The Canon Of The Christian Bible Was Completed Four Hundred Years After Jesus

10.8   The New Testament Books Were Not Written By The Apostles Whose Name They Bear

10.9   The Church Fathers Rejected Some Of The Present New Testament Books

10.10 The Inspiration Of The Holy Spirit









10.7  The Canon Of The Christian Bible Was Completed Four Hundred Years After Jesus


Contrary to what most Christians assume, there were many other Gospels and Epistles written about the sayings and teachings of Jesus that never became part of the New Testament. These other Gospels and Epistles are known from the writings of historians, early church fathers, and from the discovery of the Nag Hammadi Texts and the Dead Sea Scrolls.[1] Because there was an abundant amount of Literature that was written about the life of Jesus, there were many disagreements among early Church authorities about which books should be considered canonical.[2]


Canon means “norm” or “standard” as in canon law or the canons of musical composition. Applied to the Bible, canon refers to the precise collection of texts found in the Bible as the only ones regarded by the Christian church as “sacred”, “normative” or “authoritative” for Christian ritual, reading and instruction. Canon also means “closed”, “exclusive”, “inspired” and “revealed” as “the Word of God”. [3] When was the canon of the New Testament completed? Clyde L. Manshreck, President of The American Society of Church History says:


“The selections for the New Testament canon came from a much larger body of literature…the number of twenty-seven was not finally settled until the latter part of the fourth-century.”[4]


Making a similar statement, Robert W. Mond, the author of “The New Testament in Question” states that:


“The 27 books of the New Testament as we know it today was not finalized until the ecclesiastical Councils classified the canonical books in North Africa at Hippo Regius in 393 C.E and Carthage in 397 C.E.”[5]

Back to Top

[1]           The following are some of the titles of the scrolls found at either Nag Hammadi or the Dead Sea, or which are listed in the writings of early historians: The Gospel of Thomas, The Gospel of the Nazarenes, The Gospel of Philip, The Gospel of Truth, The Dialogue of the Savior, The Wisdom of Jesus Christ, The Secret Book of James, The Apocalypse of Peter, The Habakkuk Commentary, The Book of Thomas the Contender and The Temple Scroll. (Robert W. Mond, The New Testament in Question, SABA Islamic Media, 5)

[2]           The New Testament in Question, 3

[3]           Who Wrote The New Testament?, 276-277      

[4]           A History of Christianity In The World: from persecution to uncertainty, 7

[5]           pg 8-9